10 awesome things about being a kid

November 5, 2013 — 5 Comments

Zero to Sixty in Five has been a nice vehicle for sharing my childhood memories (tales from my adolescence should roll out pretty soon). In reliving these experiences, I can vividly recall just what it was like.

Here’s a list compiled by a young fella named Marius about how great it is to be a kid. He posted it a year and a half ago on his site, M’s World, but I only stumbled across it yesterday. I totally agree: being a kid is awesome. [My commentary will follow his points.]

10 awesome things about being a kid? Easy!!!

1. You do not have to pay taxestaxes368__1271190717_8390-1

[Such a savvy one, this Marius! I didn’t have the good sense to enjoy this childhood perk while it lasted…]

2. You do not have to cook meals (unless you have chores)

[This was not on my radar either; the reality of having to come up with three squares, 365 days a year, once I left college, hit hard.]

3. You know what an “x-box” is

images[Indeed. I’m not entirely sure I could pick one out of a line-up even now…]

4. No wrinkles!!

[Marius makes a good point; but all things considered, wrinkles aren’t nearly as bad as the random whiskers that sprout on my chin these days.] 

5. You are not old

[I think people say “you’re only as old as you feel” to make themselves feel better about getting old. The kid gets it: old is just old, regardless of how you “feel”.]

6. You do not have bingo flaps

[“Bingo flaps”… could so do without these, but alas…] 

7. You do not have a flab of skin on your neck

[“Flab of skin” — another graphic description, Marius. Unfortunately, gravity will stick it to us all, eventually.]

8. No manual *gulp* labor

[Here is where young Marius and I diverge, generationally speaking. I was pressed into a fair share of manual labor as a kid. Not nearly the same volume as I would manage in adulthood, but nonetheless, my parents believed in the distribution of labor: while I did not by any means carry the brunt of the household chores, I did cook, wash dishes, wash and hang clothes on the line, iron, dust, sweep and mop floors on a routine basis. Seasonally, I could also be found helping snap beans for the freezer, skin tomatoes for canning, or strain plum puree for jelly-making. *Gulp!*]

school 47

Thomas A. Edison Elementary School #47,
the setting for many of my stories

9.You can go to school

[I liked going to school then and still enjoy being in class. Now, where’d I put that adult education catalog?…]

10.You actually like technology

[Apparently, enough of us behave alike to have given him the impression we don’t actually like technology. But it’s really more of a love/hate thing…]

Well, there you have it. Ten awesome things about being a kid.

[Thank you, Marius, for a great list! It’s time for me to go soak in some Epsom salts now…]

5 responses to 10 awesome things about being a kid

  1. 

    I had to Google “bingo flaps”…

    *Sigh* I am losing at staying with it, it seems….

  2. 

    I gave up that cause — or perhaps I should more accurately say — I never took up that cause. Which means that I will forever stay about as cool and edgy as a spork…

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. 10 awesome things: a response « ZERO TO SIXTY IN FIVE - November 6, 2013

    […] post featured a list compiled by Marius Auer, called “10 Awesome Things About Being a Kid“. I liked his list, and largely agreed with his assessment of the benefits of being a […]

  2. AND THE WINNER IS… « ZERO TO SIXTY IN FIVE - November 11, 2013

    […] Heather, who liked 10 Awesome Things About Being a Kid. […]

  3. Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow « ZERO TO SIXTY IN FIVE - November 19, 2013

    […] son stopped by the house last night. He mentioned visiting my blog earlier in the day and liking 10 Awesome Things About Being a Kid, as well as its follow up, 10 Awesome Things: A […]

Leave a Reply

